Welcome To Our Website

I'm Ada County Sheriff Steve Bartlett, 2021 President of the Idaho Sheriffs Association. the information provided on this site provides a helpful perspective in understanding a sheriff's roll in modern society. Thank you for your support and please stay safe.

ISA Recognizes Retiring Director

A farewell message to Vaughn Killen who has retired as our ISA Executive Director. Words alone cannot express what this man has done for us as an association and law enforcement beyond our state. After nearly 35 years in city and county law enforcement, Vaughn retired the first time after serving 20 years as the elected Sheriff of Ada County. After a relatively short retirement, he went to work  as the Executive Director for the American Red Cross.


After spending about 1 ½ years with Red Cross, Governor Risch appointed him as the Director of Idaho Department of Corrections. When Governor Otter was elected, he replaced Vaughn which lead to his second retirement. About a year later, ISA hired Vaugh as our Executive Director. Vaughn has 47 years in law enforcement and/or closely related law enforcement work. Vaughn doesn’t include his time at the Red Cross but I would be remiss in not mentioning that he deployed to Hurricane Rita and worked the command center as a Government liaison.


After 12 years at ISA Vaughn has decided to retire for a third time and he provided this quote  “And, as I’ve said, this is my last retirement 😊.” Vaughn Killeen, retired 


So what do you do for a man that has dedicated much of his adult life to law enforcement and served 20 years as an elected Sheriff? The association gifted Vaughn a customized  American Sheriff Henry .45 rifle. Sheriff Bartlett and Sheriff Donahue along with ISA staff  were on hand for this special presentation. I have provided a link below to a few pictures of the presentation as well as the rifle so others can see the special gift. It is our desire to do a special presentation in front of all association members at the May conference if we can make it happen. Follow link to photos of Henry rifle


Farewell Vaughn, the ultimate role model, may you finally be able to enjoy a retirement. The men and women of ISA say thank you for your service to law enforcement and best of luck on all future endeavors.




2020 New Sheriffs School Scheduled for December 8th Through the 10th Has Been Cancelled.

 Idaho Basic and Enhanced Concealed Weapons Law 

Idaho Sheriffs offer an online

Concealed Weapon's License Handgun Safety Training Course

The course is free, however the certificate of completion cost $25.  Please confirm with your local sheriff's office if proof of familiarity with firearms is needed when applying.

Sample Certificate

Why Take the Course?


Become an Honorary Member of the Idaho Sheriffs' Association or Donate to Our Organization and Help Keep Idaho Safe

We have over 3,500 members support the work we do providing financial assistance

for training sheriffs, providing scholarships

to administering statewide victim

services programs.

Thanks for

your support.

What's Happening

COVID-19 Restrictions
Continue in Idaho

COVID remains persistent in Idaho, not only in the general population, but in our colleges and universities as well as our  jail populations. Idaho recently moved back to Phase 2 as virus cases and hospital admissions are increasing. 

The Little administration is making plans to provide vaccinations to the medical community, first responders and the elderly sometime in late December. It is anticipated that the general population will be provided vacinations by April 2021. 

2021 Board of Directors
How Long Can COVID-19 Survive?

Sheriff Rowland congratulates incoming president Ada County Sheriff Steve Bartlett

Sheriffs Skiles, Sanders, Gough, Rowland, Donahue and Grant are sworn in by Sheriff Bartlett

A study done by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases' Laboratory of Virology in Hamilton, Montana helps to answer this question.

This study found that COVID-19 can survive up to four hours on copper, up to 24 hours on cardboard, and up to two to three days on plastic and stainless steel. It also found that the virus can hang as droplets in the air for several hours. 

Continue to clean all surfaces. If surfaces are dirty, first clean them using a detergent and water, then disinfect them. A list of products suitable for use against COVID-19 is available here. This list has been pre-approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for use during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Idaho Sheriffs' Association 2021 Board of Directors

We wish to thank our Business Associates for their support



Contact US

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter Social Icon

Idaho Sheriffs' Association 3100 S Vista Ave Ste 203 Boise ID 83705